Don’t You Cry

by Mary Kubica

Wow this was one twisted thriller roller coaster ride of a book and I loved every single minute of it. I really enjoyed how the story unfolded within 2 main voices of Alex and Quinn. Esther the main character for which the story is about has a very interesting back story that you don’t get until the very last few pages. I kinda felt sorry for Alex he was a good kid that got dealt a bad hand for his home life. He just wanted a good friend and thought he had one in Pearl. Maybe it was really just wishful thinking on his part? Either way he is a great character that I enjoyed reading about and hearing his part in the book. Quinn was the number 1 character in my book and she is a great mystery solver and if it wasn’t for her friendship with Esther than this book might have had a whole other turn out. However she knows that her roommate and friend was a good person and something seriously wrong must have happened and she will stop at nothing to find out what. Mary Kubica is an amazing story teller and you are sure to loose a lot of sleep while reading one of her books. Grab a copy of Don’t You Cry for some fast paced, action packed summer reading. I would give this book a solid 5 stars and really if I could give it more I would. I enjoyed every minute of reading this book and I’m sad the book has ended. One thing I can say is that I usually guess the endings of mysteries but not this one I didn’t guess it and found out as I read the words on the page. I will be reading the rest of her book and she is now my number 1 go to author!

summary: In downtown Chicago, a young woman named Esther Vaughan disappears from her apartment without a trace. A haunting letter addressed to My Dearest is the only clue, leaving her friend and roommate Quinn to wonder, who is Esther really? And where did she go? Meanwhile, in a small lake town an hour outside of the city, a mysterious woman appears in the quiet coffee shop where eighteen-year-old Alex Gallo works as a dish washer. He is immediately drawn to her, but what starts as an innocent crush quickly spirals into something deeper and darker. As Quinn searches for answers about Esther and Alex is drawn further under Pearl’s spell, master of suspense Mary Kubica takes readers on a taut and twisted thrill ride that builds to a stunning conclusion and shows that no matter how fast and far we run, the past always catches up.

thank you BookSpark Summer Reading Challenge 2016, Mary Kubica and Mira books for allowing me to read Don’t You Cry. All thoughts and opinions are my own and not influenced by the free book.

