June

by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore





June is a slow going start that just takes a tad bit longer than I’m use to the story rolling. I’m glad I didn’t let that stop me and continued reading. Once June got started it was such a good book. In the slower start you get to know each of the main characters that June revolves around and get to visualize the world in which June takes place in. This is a story about family and the secrets that sometimes the people we love try to keep hidden. Some secrets and answers are easy to discover and some have you questioning everything you thought you knew about that person. The story goes back and forth between present day and 1955. Sometimes when a story jumps back and forth it gets a bit confusing or the story line doesn’t seem connected. In the book June that is not the case the stories flow together seamlessly and is very easy to read. This book was full of some my twist and turns and just when you think the last secret is out low and behold here comes another one. While this isn’t a typical mystery book I would say it has mystery elements in it, as well as some historical information. I enjoyed her first book Bittersweet but I have to say June is my favorite. I just liked everything about the whole story. 

summary: Cassie Danvers is holed up in her family’s crumbling mansion in rural St. Jude, Ohio, mourning the loss of the woman who raised her, her grandmother, June. When Cassie discovers that she has been named the sole heir to legendary matinee idol Jack Montgomery’s vast fortune she is stunned. Could Jack Montgomery have crossed paths with her grandmother all those years ago? When his daughters arrive, determined to reclaim the inheritance, they uncover a history of murder, blackmail, and betrayal.

thank you blogging for books and crown publishing for allowing me to read and review June. All thoughts and opinions are my own and not influenced by the free book. 

 


