Two Across

by Jeff Bartsch

Two Across by Jeff Bartsch

 

When I was told about Two Across I thought summary sounded so cute and good, and  I was looking forward to reading it. While I know it is a love story it came across to me as more a love story between two friends that were just amazing friends than in love. It was a bit slower moving than the usual fast paced books that I’m use to but that is not a bad thing. The beginning and end were great and I really liked those parts. The middle was a bit draggy for me but I am glad I kept reading. I think Two Across is a good book to grab for some summer beach, pool or lazy day reading book. I wish the events of the 60’s and all would have been more prominent or portrayed more. So much happened that could have made this a great historical fiction book but it was not touched upon and I was a bit sad at that. That is probably just me since I really like reading about the 60’s. I would recommend Two Across to several friends I know that would really love this book. Over all for me I enjoyed it and I would say it’s a 3 star book for me.

summary: Highly awkward teenager Stanley Owens meets his match in beautiful, brainy Vera Baxter when they tie for first place in the annual National Spelling Bee-and the two form a bond that will change both of their lives.


Though their mothers have big plans for them-Stanley will become a senator, Vera a mathematics professor-neither wants to follow these pre-determined paths. So Stanley hatches a scheme to marry Vera in a sham wedding for the cash gifts, hoping they will enable him to pursue his one true love: crossword puzzle construction. In enlisting Vera to marry him, though, he neglects one variable: she’s secretly in love with him, which makes their counterfeit ceremony an exercise in misery for her.


Realizing the truth only after she’s moved away and cut him out of her life, Stanley tries to atone for his mistakes and win her back. But he’s unable to find her, until one day he comes across a puzzle whose clues make him think it could only have been created by Vera. Intrigued, he plays along, communicating back to her via his own gridded clues. But will they connect again before it’s all too late?

thank you Grand Central Publishing for sending me a copy of Two Across. All thoughts and opinions are my own and not influenced by the free book.

