BookSpark August Summer Reading Challenge

August has been full of reading, back to school, reading, lots of Teen Wolf watching, and more reading. It’s so hot here that staying in and reading sounds great. However I will say I can’t wait till fall is here so I can go out on my deck with some hot tea, bundle in a hoodie and sweats and read. So today is a bit different I’m posting 5 books I read this month in a condensed book review. These were all in my Summer Reading Challenge box by BookSpark.

A House for Happy Mothers by Amulya Malladi

A House for Happy Mothers by Amulya Malladi

 

This one surprised me, I thought I would like it so-so it’s not my typical book. However I feel for this book. Amulya Malladi writes a very compelling book with such great character and story line development. The story line pulled at my heart strings as a mom and I will be reading more of her novels. If they are all has good as this one than Wow I can’t wait. A House of Happy Mother’s tackles several hot button topics with pose and grace. She lets you in and a plight for mothers not only here in America but in India as well. She really opens the readers eyes to what is going on with out being preachy. I loved this book and so happy I was able to read it. Overall: 5 stars

summary: In trendy Silicon Valley, Priya has everything she needs; a loving husband, a career, and a home. But the one thing she wants most is the child she’s unable to have. In a Southern Indian village, Asha doesn’t have much. She and her husband can barely keep a tin roof over their heads. But she wants a better education for her gifted son. Pressured by her family, Asha reluctantly checks into the Happy Mothers House: a baby farm where she can rent her only asset, her womb, to a childless couple overseas. To the dismay of friends and family, Priya places her faith in a woman she’s never met to make her dreams of motherhood come true.

Swear on this Life by Renee Carlino

Swear on This Life by Renee Carlino

 

This is one I’ve gone back and forth on since finishing it. This was the first book I read when  I got the box and since I’ve been a yoyo. On one hand it was a good story and I liked the characters and the story with in the story is heartbreaking. On the other hand I just didn’t feel connected to the characters and thought parts of it were just not very believable. The build up was big and strong but the meeting was just that. For me this ended up being a I’m glad I read it so I could see what all the hype was about. Jace or J Colby for me ended up being a bit creepy in a non threatening way but still a bit creepy in the fact that he knew everything about her. The ending was predictable and I’m glad found their happiness finally but I did see it coming. Overall: 3 stars

summary: As an adjunct writing instructor at UC San Diego with her own stalled literary career and a bumpy long-term relationship, Emiline isn’t thrilled to celebrate the accomplishments of a young and gifted writer. Yet from the very first page, Emiline is entranced by the story of Emerson and Jackson, two childhood best friends who fall in love and dream of a better life beyond the long dirt road that winds through their impoverished town in rural Ohio. That’s because the novel is patterned on Emiline’s own dark and desperate childhood, which means that “J. Colby” must be Jase: the best friend and first love she hasn’t seen in over a decade. Far from being flattered that he wrote the novel from her perspective, Emiline is furious that he co-opted her painful past and took some dramatic creative liberties with the ending. The only way she can put her mind at ease is to find and confront “J. Colby,” but is she prepared to learn the truth behind the fiction?

Perfectly Good Crime by Dete Meserve

Perfectly Good Crime by Dete Meserve

 

I didn’t know this was a second book in a series till after I finished and was looking to see if the author wrote any other books since I enjoyed this one. I love when you accidentally pick up a book in a series but are able to read it all the same. I will be reading book 1 in the Kate Bradley Mystery. Perfectly Good Crime is a page turner and has a good amount of suspense which I love in a book. I like that she sends a good message to the reader about giving back and making sure you do good in the world. Kate Bradley is a good strong lead character. Dete Meserve writes an intriguing story line and her characters are very realistic and she tackles issues that are in the news now. Glad I discovered another new author from this box of books. Overall: 4 stars

summary: When the estates of the 100 wealthiest Americans are targeted in a series of sophisticated, high tech heists, Los Angeles TV news reporter Kate Bradley must venture inside the world of the super rich to investigate the biggest story of the year.

As the heists escalate, Kate’s search is thwarted when the Los Angeles police detective she’s been working with mysteriously disappears, her senator father demands that she stop reporting on the heists, and the billionaire victims refuse to talk to the media. Kate uncovers clues that those behind the robberies have shocking, yet uplifting, motives—it just may be a perfectly good crime that brings about powerful change.

The Lucidity Project by Abbey Campbell Cook

The Lucidity Project A Novel by Abbey Campbell Cook

 

This one is another torn book while I liked parts, parts just seemed so out there for me. It just didn’t click with me but I can see some readers really enjoying it and I passed it on to a friend that loved it. So I think for this one it was just me. Which was surprising because I like a good paranormal story. I’m believer in some of that stuff. The writing was good, even when I was really feeling the book I kept reading because Abbey Campbell Cook has a flowing writing style. I do have the book back from my friend and I will give it another try. Sometimes you  just pick up a book and it doesn’t click with you at the time but later you pick it up and you devour it. I’m really hoping this is one of those books. I think it might be so fingers crossed. Overall: 3 stars ( since I will re-read this and my friend said she would give it a solid 4)

summary: “The Lucidity Project” stirs readers to look at life and their abilities in an exhilarating new way. Depression has haunted twenty-five-year-old Max Dorigan her entire life. After years of unsuccessful treatment and a failed suicide attempt, Max agrees to join The Lucidity Project, a program at a mysterious health and wellness resort in the Caribbean where, she soon finds, the people are just as troubled as she is, only in a different way. They claim to have psychic powers. They claim they can see ghosts. They claim Max is one of them. Max refuses to pay much attention until Dr. Micah McMoneagle, the charismatic head of the project, reveals he s found a way to allow people to enter each other s dreams. Now, instead of discussing their issues in talk therapy, Max and her new gifted friends can symbolically work through their problems on the astral plane. Together they embark on a magical, transformational journey through dreamtime to reveal the causes of the things that are holding them back an adventure that ultimately awakens them to who they really are, and what they came to earth to do.

Clear to Lift by Anne A. Wilson

Clear to Lift A Novel by Anne A. Wilson

 

 

Clear to Lift was the last book I read from the box and while it is clearly a romance book it does have more to that in the story line and that is what held me as a reader. I enjoyed the military part of it since I was a military kid and those story lines always are enjoyable to see if they really do know their stuff. 🙂 This is a first book for me by Ann Wilson. She is a vivid writer that really paints a picture for the reader. I could see all the beautiful scenery that was within the pages of this story. I hope to read more by her. Her character development was great and I liked them so much, wish they were real life friends and not book friends. The love story is a part of the book but I really think it was just a small part and that is why this worked for me. The rescue scenes were so good and gripping I was hooked and reading fast so I knew what was going on and making sure everyone was OK. There were many stories with in the story and each character was fully developed. This was a story of love – letting go of the past – redemption – moving on and paving a new path. A great book that will be enjoyed by romance readers and us non romance readers alike. Overall: 4.5 stars

summary: When she is assigned to a new search and rescue team, Navy helicopter pilot Lt. Alison Malone meets mountain guide Will during a dangerous mission, a man who shows her that it is never too late to start living.

Thank you BookSpark Summer Reading Challenge for sending me these books for review. All thoughts and opinions are mine and not influenced by the free books.

