Dear Mr. M A Novel

by Herman Koch

dear-mr-m-a-novel-by-herman-koch

 

Dear Mr M was a first book for me from author Herman Koch. I’ve heard so many great things about  The Dinner and Summer House with Swimming Pool. I thought this book sounded really interesting. However for me it just was so-so. I enjoyed it but didn’t feel it was action packed and full of suspense like I thought it would be. Dear Mr M is a slower moving book that does unfold just got to hang in there. I will go back and give Summer House with Swimming Pool and The Dinner a try since I’ve heard so many great things about them. Over all I did recommend it and share it with my neighbor. The story was very complex and well written I rated a solid 3.5 stars. I liked the writing style and the complexity to the story.

Once a celebrated writer, M’s greatest success came with a suspense novel based on a real-life disappearance. The book was called The Reckoning, and it told the story of Jan Landzaat, a history teacher who went missing one winter after his brief affair with Laura, his stunning pupil. Jan was last seen at the holiday cottage where Laura was staying with her new boyfriend. Upon publication, M.’s novel was a bestseller, one that marked his international breakthrough.

That was years ago, and now M.’s career is almost over as he fades increasingly into obscurity. But not when it comes to his bizarre, seemingly timid neighbor who keeps a close eye on him. Why?

thank you blogging for books, Hogarth and Random House for allowing me to read and review Dr Mr M. All thoughts and opinions are my own and not influenced by the free book.

