Army Wife A Story of Love and Family in the Heart of the Army

by Vicky Cody

army-wife-a-story-of-love-and-family-in-the-heart-of-the-army-by-vicki-cody

 

 

From the last days of the Vietnam War to the present-day war on terrorism, this story is a moving and poignant tribute to love, marriage, family, and the men and women who serve this nation. In describing her thirty-three-year journey as an Army wife, Cody gives an in-depth look at what it takes to keep a marriage strong, raise a family—oftentimes as a single parent—create a home, and face separations and loneliness amid the uncertainty and stresses that are so much a part of Army life. Full of humor and honesty, Army Wife brings the reader into Cody’s private life in a very personal way, and in doing so opens the lens for a broader view of world events.

I grew up a Air Force Brat so I knew this would be interesting. While I know the kid point of view of military life by reading this I kinda got to see what my mom’s life was like as a military wife. Army Wife  is a memoir that all readers would enjoy you don’t have to be from a military background.  If you have ever been curious about or know some one in the military you might really find this one interesting. Some of the aspects of course were very different since we were Air Force. Also some military families live a very different life since the pay is low for enlistees many wives have to work also or just want to work to get out there and meet people since your constantly moving and making new friends. I wish my one Army Wife friend still lived just a few doors down I would have loved to have gotten her thoughts and opinions on this book before I posted the review.

On a side note: I was suppose to receive The Sportscaster’s Daughter by Cindi Michael  but I just got an empty envelope so no review of this book. 

Millions of people watched sportscaster George Michael each week on the Sports Machine, including his daughter Cindi. Cindi Michael appears to live a charmed life: she’s happily married, has a successful career, and is a loving mom to two wonderful children. Yet she longs for a father who hasn’t spoken to her in twenty years, and even secretly watches him on TV when the longing becomes unbearable.
 thank you BookSpark The Magic of a Memoir, Vicky Cody and She Writes Press for allowing me to read this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own and not influenced by the free book. 
