Behind Closed Doors

by B.A. Paris

behind-closed-doors-by-b-a-paris

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth; she has charm and elegance. He’s a dedicated attorney who has never lost a case; she is a flawless homemaker, a masterful gardener and cook, and dotes on her disabled younger sister. Though they are still newlyweds, they seem to have it all. You might not want to like them, but you do. You’re hopelessly charmed by the ease and comfort of their home, by the graciousness of the dinner parties they throw. You’d like to get to know Grace better.

But it’s difficult, because you realize Jack and Grace are inseparable.

Some might call this true love. Others might wonder why Grace never answers the phone. Or why she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. Or why she never seems to take anything with her when she leaves the house, not even a pen. Or why there are such high-security metal shutters on all the downstairs windows.

Some might wonder what’s really going on once the dinner party is over, and the front door has closed.

 

First Thoughts:

My first initial thoughts were this is really good I’m going to like this psychological thriller. Than I got further into the book and decided Yikes, this book is disturbing on so many levels. What is even more disturbing is that there are people this twisted and sick out there.

Characters:

Jack and Grace are the envy couple of their friends. Jack is a high-powered attorney working to save women from their abusive husbands and boyfriends. Grace is the timid wife that is the perfect hostess and very loving sister. Millie is Grace’s sister who is sweet and very intuitive to what people are really like.  Esther is the meddling new friend that Grace really needs since she also things something is not right. There are more characters but these are the ones that really stuck out for me.

Plot and Writing:

The plot to Behind Closed Doors was good don’t get me wrong it was just so dark and twisted that it really got to me through out reading this. I had to read 2 books at the same time. Since at times I really just wanted to read something happy-go-lucky. B.A. Paris is a good writer and definitely writes one dark twisted thriller. I will read another book by B.A. Paris.  Her next one The Breakdown comes out June 20, 2017. While I can say Behind Closed Doors might not be a favorite since it made me uncomfortable reading it. I did  finish it and she does such big plot twist and reveals. It was great to read how the story unfolds and I loved seeing everything from Grace’s eyes.

Final Thoughts:

My final thoughts on Behind Closed Doors is that it’s not for every reader. It will crawl under your skin and get to you at times. It is crazy to think there are people out there this mean, crazy, and twisted but there are. I can say while at times Grace really made me mad for staying I still liked her, Millie and Esther the best. If you read this you might want to have a happy book to grab at times. Overall I could see this being made into a movie.

thank you BookSpark Fall Reading Challenge, B.A. Paris and St Martins Press for allowing me to read this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own and not influenced by the free book. 

 

