We Are Unprepared

by Meg Little Reilly

we-are-unprepared-by-meg-little-reilly

 

 

Ash and Pia move from hipster Brooklyn to rustic Vermont in search of a more authentic life. But just months after settling in, the forecast of a superstorm disrupts their dream. Fear of an impending disaster splits their tight-knit community and exposes the cracks in their marriage. Where Isole was once a place of old farm families, rednecks and transplants, it now divides into paranoid preppers, religious fanatics and government tools, each at odds about what course to take.

WE ARE UNPREPARED is an emotional journey, a terrifying glimpse into the human costs of our changing earth and, ultimately, a cautionary tale of survival and the human spirit.

First Thoughts:

I was excited to read a book where the thrill in the thriller was environmental. I haven’t read a book where the main issue at hand is about the environment and what is happening to it.

Characters:

Ash and Pia are the main character that you are introduced to right of the bat. There are other characters that I feel are strong supporting characters. For me the book seemed more about Ash and his point of view. At times oh my stars did I not like him. He was an arrogant, unfeeling guy but he comes around and that is all thanks to the sweetest character of them all August.

Plot and Writing:

The plot of We Are Unprepared was an interesting one and while I did like the idea and the writing was good it just took to long and at a slower pace than I liked. You have to read more than 60% of the book before the massive beyond super storm hits. For me it was just a bit to long. I really wanted to give it up at times.

Final Thoughts:

I think if the book would have moved at a faster pace than I would have liked it more than I did. Overall it was well written and not a bad read. I just wanted it move faster and have the storm unfold sooner rather than later.

thank you BookSpark Fall Reading Challenge, Meg Little Reilly and Mira  for allowing me to read this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own and not influenced by the free book. 

 

