The Witch House of Persimmon Point

by Suzanne Palmieri

the-witch-house-of-persimmon-point-by-suzanne-palmieri

 

 

When Byrd Whalen returns to her family’s ancestral home to uncover secrets threatening to destroy a legacy she holds dear, the dark haunted histories of the Amore women reveal themselves, leading Byrd to question everything she’s ever believed about herself in Palmieri’s fourth novel.

 

First Thoughts:

I have never read a book by Suzanne Palmieri. So I went into this with no back history or sure if it was related to any of the other Witch books she has written. I picked this one up first from my BookSpark Fall Reading Challenge box because I thought: Witches and Mystery a perfect spooktober read.

Characters:

The characters were very well developed and you get a whole history lesson on all the important back characters. This really helped me as a first time reader and I enjoyed getting to know the history of the Amore Women. They are a strong group of women and I really feel in love with their characters.  I will be checking out more of her books to see if I can read more about the fabulous Byrd Whalen.

Plot and Writing:

The author did a fabulous job and not making me feel lost and like I should stop reading. The writing flowed well and made reading though this book a breeze. The plot was a big heavy one with a lot of back story and family history. She did great at weaving that in throughout  the book.  There was so much going on but you can tell she knows and loves her characters.

Final Thoughts:

Well this wasn’t a spooktober book to read for the mystery and witches that I was think it would be about. However I got a sweet family story with so many new characters that I want to read more about. I will be checking out the rest of her books. Overall I really enjoyed this one and so happy I was introduced to a new to me author.

Thank you St Martins Press, BookSpark Fall Reading Challenge and Suzanne Palmieri for allowing me to read The Witch House of Persimmon Point. All thoughts and opinions are mine and not influenced by the free book.

