The Whole Thing Together

by Ann Brashares

 

 

The Whole Thing Together was a slower paced book and a lot of character driven plots with in plots blended families stories all put together. At first I was thinking I’m not to sure this book is for me, then the plot twist happened that I never saw coming. While this story has a big cast of characters the two main ones that it is told through are Ray and Sasha. Their lives are intertwined and shared through their 3 sisters. They are the same age and share the same life but only every other week. See Ray’s mom was married to Sasha’s dad they have the 3 sister’s and a beach house and the same job but it alternates throughout the years. They have never meet and are curious about each other. I mean that is understandable and the never meeting and they are old enough to have a job and in their teens just had me shaking my head. I mean even the worse divorces and trying to stay apart as much as possible I think you’d still run into each other but hey New York City is a big big city so maybe not. Ray and Sasha start exchanging emails and getting to know each other. They have chance encounter, a family get together that ends in a heartbreaking tragedy. This is where the characters lives fall apart and I think the author did a great job at portraying their pain and grief in a realistic manner. Truly till that moment in the book I wasn’t that invested and was thinking it was a so-so book. After that moment I got more invested in the characters they seemed to have more depth and I ended up liking the book. I feel there was just so much back story about their lives before that moment that it was just a lot for the reader to keep straight. Now I know why we needed all that and I think the author because with out all of the life stories I think the tragedy wouldn’t have made such a big impact. Overall I really enjoyed it and would recommend it for any YA or adult reader looking for a good character driven novel this summer.

Summer for Sasha and Ray means the sprawling old house on Long Island. Since they were children, they’ve shared almost everything—reading the same books, running down the same sandy footpaths to the beach, eating peaches from the same market, laughing around the same sun-soaked dining table. Even sleeping in the same bed, on the very same worn cotton sheets. But they’ve never met.

Sasha’s dad was once married to Ray’s mom, and together they had three daughters: Emma, the perfectionist; Mattie, the beauty; and Quinn, the favorite. But the marriage crumbled and the bitterness lingered. Now there are two new families—and neither one will give up the beach house that holds the memories, happy and sad, of summers past.

The choices we make come back to haunt us; the effect on our destinies ripples out of our control…or does it? This summer, the lives of Sasha, Ray, and their siblings intersect in ways none of them ever dreamed, in a novel about family relationships, keeping secrets, and most of all, love.

Thank you Penguin Books – Delcorte Press for sending me a copy of The Whole Thing Together. All thoughts and opinions are my own and not influenced by the free book.

