Jumping Over Shadows A Memoir

I’m finally sitting down and typing up my reviews of the books I’ve read in April. I set a GoodReads goal of 52 books for 2017. I’ve read 27 so far and can’t wait to see what I close out 2017 with as a total.  First up for April’s books is a good one and a non fiction book which is a rarity for me, but I am working on changing that and trying to read more non fiction.

by Annette Gendler

 

 

I’m usually not a big memoir reader or really non fiction for that matter. However I’m trying to change that and reading more non fictions this year. I’m really starting to like them, and find them fascinating. Jumping Over Shadows title comes from a statement her father in law made. The book compares her life marrying a Jewish man to her Great Aunt’s who also married a Jewish man in the 1930’s. This is such a sweet love story – or really stories since you get glimpses of both. I learned so much and got invested in the families, I was shocked that even in the 1980’s there were issues they faced. The history between the families was interesting and this was a really good book. The cover photo reminds me of those old-time pictures from the 30’s and I really like the feel it gives the book. This one is a must read for anyone and everyone who likes good old love stories.

 

summary: History was repeating itself when Annette Gendler fell in love with a Jewish man in Germany in 1985. Her Great-Aunt Resi had been married to a Jew in Czechoslovakia before World War II–a marriage that, while happy, created tremendous difficulties for the extended family once the Nazis took over their hometown in 1938, and ultimately did not survive the pressures of the time. Annette and Harry’s love, meanwhile, was the ultimate nightmare for Harry’s family of Holocaust survivors. Weighed down by the burdens of their family histories, Annette and Harry kept their relationship secret for three years, until they could forge a path into the future and create a new life in Chicago. As time went on, however, Annette found a spiritual home in Judaism–a choice that paved the way toward acceptance by Harry’s family, and redemption for some of the wounds of her own family’s past…

Thank you BookSpark for sending me this book as part of It’s Raining Books campaign. All thoughts and opinions are my own and not influenced by the free book.

